h1

Fear of climbing

April 2, 2007

Mooseman Bike Elevation

I had a nice long brick workout this afternoon. (1:20 trainer ride to a free Spinnervals DVD I snagged at the Multisport Expo followed by a 3 mile run). Then decided to poke around technorati to see who else was blogging about Mooseman.

In my rummaging around the net, I found this blog post from a fellow Connecticut-er who showed off a topographic map of the bike course for Mooseman. Granted I had heard some stories about how the course was really hilly, and started off with a pretty aggressive climb right from the start… but actually seeing it mapped out visually on my computer shocked me a little! (well, actually quite a lot…)

Check out the full route profile here:

http://www.gmap-pedometer.com/?r=810129 

It looks like I’m going to be doing some hill repeats in the next few weeks to prep my quads for Mooseman! Who’s with me!?!

One comment

  1. Thanks for the shout out! I’ve done Mooseman twice, and the hills are a fun feature 😉 The first two are brutal, but there’s a lady dressed in a devil suit cheering you on and it’s over relatively quick. I have to say that I have seen some folks walking it though, so yeah you might want to work on the quads a bit.

    Whereabouts in CT are you located, drop me a line and we could perhaps take a training ride together some time.



Leave a Reply

