h1

New Gear!

April 12, 2007

 

Originally uploaded by Magnus Glantz.

I’ve invested in some new gear!

My bike leg is clearly my weakness, and I needed a little boost from trading in my old cage pedals to my first set of clipless pedals that I picked up on sale from the LBS last weekend.

I love ’em to death so far! I have just been using them on the trainer so far, so I can get confident enough clipping in/out of them first before heading out on the road, but I can really feel my pedal stroke getting more efficient and powerful.

Next I’ve just got to invest in a wetsuit, to brave the frigid waters of Newfound lake at the Mooseman, and I’ll be all set!

New toys sure get me pumped, but not as much as seeing myself get faster and stronger as the weeks of training fly by. I’ve already lost almost 10 pounds in just over a month since I first started Tri training again, and can see my body changing and getting ready for a new season.

Move video to come later this week, I promise. Please forgive.

5 comments

  1. Nice blog. I really enjoyed your video from the NEMSE. Keep training hard Mooseman and will be a piece of cake.


  2. A wetsuit will be a must for Mooseman, I read that the average water temperature is 62 degrees. I’m not ready to invest in one yet, so I just rented a full suit from wetsuitrental.com for $35.

    You should see a definite improvement in power with the clipless pedals. Good luck with your training! See you at Mooseman!


  3. Thanks John! I shot Jim at Wetsuitrental.com an email last week with a few questions about renting and he was really quick to respond and very helpful.

    Now that it is warming up, i’ll have to plan some open water swims to test it out! I can’t wait!


  4. No problem!

    I went to the beach this weekend… still a little to cold for me yet!


  5. Warning!!!
    Clipless pedals are very dangerous.
    I’ve been riding bicycles continuously since I was 5. Have even commuted to work year-round in suburb north of NYC, Had been using Shimno clipless pedals for about 10 years and had several occasions when I couldn’t release from the pedal and dumped over. The last time, at age 58, caused my right hip to fracture. I needed 2 surgeries and 6 months of rehab. After the accident I found out about two other cyclists who suffered hip fractures because they couldn’t release from their pedals.
    Needless to say I took them off my Trek and will never use them again.
    The Pain was not worth the gain.



Leave a Reply

