h1

Back on the bike

July 21, 2007

This morning I actually felt like a triathlete again, and it was the first time in a long time.

I have only spent a few minutes on the bike here and there since my knee first gave out on me about a month and a half ago, and it has been killing me. My bike has just been sitting in the corner of my room, giving me evil looks for not giving it enough attention.

I headed up to Walden pond this morning for a nice long swim with Chris and a few other folks from Beginner Triathlete for a nice long swim. With all that time off, I was afraid my performance would completely drop off and I’d have to start all over again from where I was back in February. Thankfully, my swimming hasn’t taken too much of a hit and I felt really strong (plus I got some good tips on improving my form from all-around triathlon badass, Jorge).

After heading up to the parking lot to head out for a ride, we met up with Kim and hit the road. I was super nervous about my knee. I took a quick 30 minute ride on the trainer the night before to see how it felt, and it seemed to go pretty well, but I still was mentally prepared to have it give out after 5 miles and have to turn around and leave the group to speed on without me.

Thankfully, I was able to do the whole 25 mile loop with everyone (but dropped by Chris and the faster group in just a few minutes), but had to bow out after that and let them keep going. I’ve definitely lost some speed on the bike, but not as much as I would have expected. My knee did feel pretty good throughout most of the ride, but was a little tight after. Nothing a little stretching and rest can’t take care of.

I’ve gotten a few requests for it lately, so I’ll post up some of the different stretches I’ve been doing lately that seem to have helped.  I’m also having my first PT session this Friday, so hopefully I’ll come back from that with some more good info to share w/ anyone else having IT band issues.

3 comments

  1. Nice to see you today! I’m glad your knee held out and you’re feeling optimistic!


  2. yay way to stick it out with the “slower” group despite getting lost! great to see you again. glad the knee is better, and thanks for posting the IT band stretches. im up for a ride anytime!


  3. Hey, always knowing where you are going is boring. I’m always up for getting lost. 🙂



Leave a Reply

