h1

Morning Workouts

September 5, 2007



Ironmen

Originally uploaded by J Diggity

Okay.

So I’m REALLY good at setting my running/cycling/swimming gear out the night before, and setting my alarm clock to get up early and do a early morning workout. I’m definitely an early riser, but not so much that I can easily jump out of bed and hit the road/pool early in the morning before work.

Half of the difficulty if triathlon is just finding time to train. Working out early is a good way to squeeze in some extra mileage, because the LAST thing I want to do after a long day at the office is go workout, especially when my stocked fridge and TV are calling my name.

Having the 3 PM Clif Builder Bar (they are delicious!) has helped curb my post-work appetite and help me get on the road, but it still hard to get out there once and a while.

Anyone have any good tips for just getting yourself motivated and out there on the road?

3 comments

  1. dude, let me know when you find the secret to getting up early and waking up to workout… i have to get up tomorrow and do a quick 30 minute bike and 10 minute run, and ummm i dont really want to do it. especially knowing i have to go to school from 430-10.

    such is the life of a wanna-be ironman. it’s gonna be one. tough. year.


  2. Haha. Maybe it is just a lack of motivation then.

    Did someone say “sign up for an ’08 IM?” Haha.

    well… maybe one more year… but I do think I need to register for some fall races now that all of my planned races have passed….

    Hopefully I can get into the Duxbury Sprint, or at least find some late season distance runs… or even a half marathon?


  3. One thing that helps me is my preprogrammable coffee maker. I know when the alarm goes off that there is fresh coffee waiting. Plus, my dogs here it and then demand to to go out. So then I’m up, I have cofee = viola! The hard part is getting to the actual training, though!!!



Leave a Reply

