h1

Flipping the 70.3 Coin

November 10, 2007

FYI: This blog has moved to a new address. Catch up on new posts at: http://swimbikerunlive.com/

I’m trying to plan a rough schedule for my 2008 races, and sign up for any of the races that sell out early, and I’ve gotten stumped and I need some help.

So 2008 will be known as the year where Jamie tries his luck at finishing a Half Iron, but I’m stuck on which race I should actually sign up for. So far I’ve narrowed it down to two possibilities.

Timberman has only about 150 spots left, and the inaugural Rhode Island 70.3 just opened for registration today….

I’m considering just flipping a coin at this point. I’m taking votes here. No justification on your pick needed.

9 comments

  1. I didn’t really like Timberman. It was okay, well run…but I just didn’t feel the ‘magic’ at that race. Other people obviously do, though…but my vote is for Rhode Island…


  2. IMRI! It sounds like a beautiful course. Though, I’m partial since it goes through my hometown. 🙂


  3. Wow. It’s not even me and I am torn.

    Consider this, perhaps:
    –Timberman is well run. You can practice ride the course.
    –RI is a point-to-point course and it’s the first year, so who knows about glitches. Don’t know if you can practice ride the course (no course maps out yet that I can find).
    –Timberman rates went up & is expensive. What about RI?
    –You’d be doing the inaugural race in RI — cool.
    –Little more time to train for RI
    –RI is an ocean swim, if that matters to you.

    (myself — I said no to Timberman this year and I am currently deciding between RI & Patriot!)

    let us know when you decide — curious minds want to know. 🙂


  4. Me again… Was that Britney standing behind you in the second picture on the JT post?


  5. How many chances do you get to race in an Ironman 70.3 Series inaugural race!

    I need to make some decisions for the 2008 season myself. I want to run a marathon and a half IM, but I haven’t committed to any yet. RI 70.3 sounds good, but I’m usually on vacation then… I’m so confused!


  6. Haha, yes. That was Britney. We dressed up as the many versions of Britney Spears (and me as JT) for my work Halloween party. (The Britney behind me is actually a dude).

    Robin has a point… the Patriot Half seems like a pretty good idea too…. UGH.

    I may seriously just flip a coin…


  7. mee too 🙂


  8. I just did my first 70.3 and it was a little more than I expected it to be. I say go for it! Nothing like a new challenge to kick off a new season! best of luck.


  9. […] been struggling with the decision for a while but as soon as I it “publish” on this post, I’m pulling out the […]



Leave a Reply

