h1

Winter Wonderland

December 14, 2007

Last night, this was the scene outside my window. Over 10 inches of snow and barely shoveled sidewalks and roads.

It was a much better view outside this morning when I got up before 6:00 this morning for another run along the river. Getting out early and seeing the whole city covered in bright and clean white snow made it all worth it.

Running in snow is almost as tough as running in sand. I felt like I was working WAY too hard for how fast I was going. The run was about 5.5 miles, took almost exactly an hour and I averaged a HR of about 170. DAYUM!

I hope I’m not really that slow and that I can blame it all on sloshing through the snow and trying not to slip and fall into traffic or the river…

I’m doing a Jingle Bell 5k this weekend. Hopefully that’ll give me some better idea of what my running speed is like this winter…

Leave a Reply

