h1

Goodbye 2007

December 31, 2007

December is coming to a close and I thought it was about time to do some reflecting. I didn’t really have any official triathlon goals for 2007, except for finishing an Oly (which I did early in June and repeated again in August), but I think it went pretty well.

Despite a pretty bad IT band injury this summer, I’ve been able to maintain at least a modest level of fitness all the way throughout the year, and am about 5-10 pounds lighter, and in a WHOLE lot better shape than I was last December. (I ALMOST have that middle line of muscle definition in my calves from spinning!) I haven’t gotten any better at resisting Christmas cookies and my grandmother’s fudge, but at least I’ve finally found my year-round workout groove to help burn it off, and I couldn’t be any happier.

I feel like somewhere along the line in 2007 I’ve passed that point that I’ve been trying to reach for quite a while. That tipping point where triathlon and being generally active isn’t just something I do to keep busy when I’m not at work, but has become a part of my lifestyle and has started to define the way I deal with life and look at the world. For example, my job no longer offers vacation days. They are now days to be used to travel to my big races next year and recover before heading back to the daily grind.

I went on a tour of Fenway Park yesterday with my family who came up from Connecticut to visit their big brother.

The score board is counting down to MLB’s opening day. It was a nice reminder that it isn’t too long before the racing season starts up again and I can head out on the road without having to bundle up in thick coats and multiple layers. The weather may be getting colder, but the winter solstice has passed and they days are only getting longer from here. I hope everyone had a great year and here is to a great 2008 season!

Cheers and Happy New Year Everyone!

2 comments

  1. “I haven’t gotten any better at resisting Christmas cookies” What the hell!? Don’t resist em use em as fuel for workouts. They taste a lot better then power bars.

    Have a good “08”!


  2. HAPPY NEW YEAR!



Leave a Reply

