h1

Triathletes vs. American Gladiators

January 8, 2008

FYI: This blog has moved to a new address. Catch up on new posts at: http://swimbikerunlive.com/

 

I seem to be noticing a trend here.

I’m not quite sure what it is. It may be because it is the off season, or the writer’s strike, or just the fact that all the tri geeks out there are starving for some sort of athletic spandex-filled entertainment, but the new American Gladiators seems to have hit a cord with the triathlon crowd.

I’m proud to admit that I was a huge fan of the original show (and even still watch an episode here and there on ESPN Classic). I spent many Saturday afternoons as a kid jumping around on my parent’s couch as a kid getting hit in the face with pillows and seat cushions (our version of the joust) by my older brother. I was definitely psyched to see its return, but I didn’t think I’d be THIS psyched. I missed the first episode Sunday, but finally sat down to watch the second episode last night. It was super cheesy, but amazingly perfect.

Oh, and I think I may have developed a new crush (Shhhhh, don’t tell Sam.)

Gladiator Name: Crush

To be honest, when she was on the joust pedestal, pulled her mouth guard out of her bra, and began destroying the competitor’s face with repeated blows to the skull, my heart melted a little. Despite not being a body building behemoth like the rest of the gladiators, this chick has got some power. Apparently she is a killer Muay Thai fighter too.

My love of spandex-clad athletic chicks aside, this correlation between love of triathlon and AG got my gears turning. Now this is just an idea, but I think American Gladiators and Zoot should do some co-branding effort and make AG themed silver and blue tri-suits. How awesome would that be? Or have special AG races, where you have to compete against The Immovable Helga in the transition area?

2 comments

  1. Your post reminded me that we had it DVR’d.

    Yep, pretty much as cheesy as I remember too. But exactly what I expected and wanted to see.

    To be honest, I was pretty appalled at how tired some of those people were going through the eliminator. Especially the first group of women. It didn’t look THAT hard… I mean, they were complete toast after the first 3 obstacles!!


  2. YES!!! Let’s get Hellga in transition.

    And don’t take my woman. Crush is mine. Don’t tell my wife….



Leave a Reply

