h1

Recap: New England Triathlon Summit

February 25, 2008

I spent all day yesterday up in Salem, MA at the New England Triathlon Summit. It was an all day triathlon-athon, if there is such a thing. Eight hours of lectures, training plans, injury prevention, technique discussions. You name it, we talked about it.

I primarily signed up just to get some continuing education credits for my Spinning certification, but it was the perfect shot in the arm that I needed on a cold February day just after a heavy snow storm. I think there were about 60 people there, ranging from newbies, to coaches, to regular age groupers like me. It was a really cool crowd. I don’t think a single person left there yesterday without a renewed love of, and energy for, the sport.
The presenters were all awesome too, although I felt pretty dumb realizing how much I still have to learn about training and racing after hearing from all the cool coaches and Ph.D.s.  I did get some really great ideas for my spinning classes, nutrition planning, and my overall training and racing schedule for this year.

dscf0138.jpg

I could try and recap everything I learned yesterday, but honestly, my frantically scribbled note taking won’t do everything justice. I still have to digest it all, but I at least wanted to share one of my favorite quotes of the day from the session’s keynote, IM Hawaii winner Karen Smyers (who didn’t hesitate to point out that she had been racing longer than I had been alive). I think she is going on 26 years in triathlon this year.

dscf0135.jpg

She was a really great speaker and totally down to earth despite her amazing career, but there was one thing that she said about her nutritional plan that really hit home for me.

Nutritional philosophy: “All things in moderation, except for beer and cookies. Those in excess.”

That is my type of nutritional plan!

One comment

  1. Isn’t that good news to hear a woman like Karen isn’t the BEST eater in the world! I love her too, she makes us normal people feel like it’s okay not to be “perfect” and we can still be great athletes! Sounds like a fun day, long but fun!



Leave a Reply

