h1

Different this time around: Picking my Half Iron

March 1, 2008

FYI: This blog has moved to a new address. Catch up on new posts at: http://swimbikerunlive.com/

2007 was a really fun year as far as triathlon goes (if you want to be nice). If you want to be a little more honest, it showed that I still have a lot to learn about training and racing and taking this sport seriously.

My first step in making 2008 different was to not let myself go this winter like I did last winter and actually have a solid base (read: keep the beer gut at bay). So far, I think I’ve done a pretty decent job. My running has been a little on and off, but my biking has been really solid. I’ve gotten at least two solid bike sessions each week since October, and while I haven’t had a chance to get outside and see how much faster I’ve gotten on the pavement, I think it has really paid off.

Last February, I was all pudgy, soft, and sore after even the shortest workout.

This year, I’m finding all these random lumps popping out of my legs. What gives?!

dscf0141.jpg

These puppies are tired of being cooped up inside in the cold. I need spring!

Sticking with the whole “taking my 2008 triathlon training seriously” theme, I actually blocked out the whole year training overview grid I got from Jumpy and Mr. SaltE from The Age Grouper.  Once I actually mapped out my whole year,  it was a whole lot easier to see my training schedule, A and B races, and planned vacations all in one spot, and eventually pick which half iron to sign up for this year.

I’ve been struggling with the decision for a while but as soon as I it “publish” on this post, I’m pulling out the credit card and signing up for Ironman (70.3) Rhode Island! It will give me a few more weeks to train over the Patriot, and just fits perfectly into a vacation I’m taking later later in July.

WOOHOO! I’m Pumped! Who is with me!

One comment

  1. Sweet!! A good friend of mine is doing RI too. I’ll be down there training with him quite a bit, I imagine. We’ll have to get together for some on course training when the weather gets nicer. 🙂



Leave a Reply

