h1

Left out in the cold

March 23, 2008

This morning was my tri team’s first Saturday morning ride starting from the local tri shop and I was pumped about it. Actually training during the winter has me feeling super cooped up and I was SO looking forward to it. The weatherman said it was supposed to be high 40’s and windy, so I was prepared to bundle up.
Last night I pulled off the junky back tire that I use on the trainer and put on my nicer road tire. After brusing my fingers trying to pull the tire back on the rim, tearing a tube, and getting grease all over my hands and arms, I decided to give up and hope that someone at Wheelworks (my team’s bike shop) can help me out before the ride in the morning. I can hold my own with most basic bike mechanic stuff, but stretching the tire back over the rim just isn’t my bag baby, but I just blame my really stiff tires.

Here is me with Angela (my bike’s name) dismantled in the back seat on the way to the first group ride of the year.

img00037.jpg

After a humbling experience at the bike shop as they toss the tire back over the rim and pump it back up without even so much as a blink, I was good to go, at least until I saw the rest of the team that showed up for the ride. All of a sudden I felt really under dressed for the weather. Oh, and I also ran into fellow tri-blogger, and Wheelworks employee/team member Jared who was just starting his day at work. Working at a bike shop looks so fun. It make my cube-town of a job look like some sad joke.

I haven’t done much cold-weather riding, but thought I had a pretty good idea on what to wear since I’ve been running outside a lot. Two shirts, a windbreaker, gloves, scull cap, bike shorts and knee warmers. More than enough, right? I guess not. I tried not to be too much of a wuss and hoped by legs would warm up once we got riding.

Once the cold wind blowing through my shoe vents started to make my toes all tingly and cold about 4 miles in , it was time to suck it up and turn around.  It was a hit to the ego, but better doing that than getting sick and not being able to ride another day. Next time I’ll have to go for full-length tights and thicker socks/plastic bags in my shoes before I do any sub-fifty degree riding again.

After drooling over some new tri bikes and picking up some new tubes to replace the one I tore apart, I decided it was time to hit the pool since my cycling workout didn’t amount to much. Good plan, right? Wrong again. Pool Closed. Why? Just because. Awesome

For those keeping score, Jamie is pulling a big 0 for three today.

I gave up and decided to just get some run miles in on Easter morning tomorrow. I can’t screw that up, can I?

4 comments

  1. Try PI Calientoes. Warm toeses!


  2. Good to see you…

    It should warm up sometime soon, probably July…

    Later,

    Jared


  3. lets get together when it starts getting warm. concord baby concord! warm weather only!


  4. When it comes to cold weather, you need MULTIPLES of stuff. I especially need things on my toes. I have battery powered sox that heat up under my toes, then I put th esmall shoe covers that only go over my toes, then booties. that sjust my feet. I think it takes me 10 minutes to get out of my winter riding gear lol



Leave a Reply

