h1

News Flash: Sunburns are no longer cool

May 20, 2008

FYI: This blog has moved to a new address. Catch up on new posts at: http://swimbikerunlive.com/

One thing I forgot to mention in my last post, I got SO BURNT this weekend. I can list my excuses for not wearing long sleeves or using more sun screen, but that won’t do anyone any good.

When I was a lifeguard in high school and college I would just let myself get burnt once in the beginning of the summer, and then I would never have to wear sunscreen for the rest of the summer. It was this funny little contest that I would have with the rest of the guards.
Showing off my killer sunburn

While it sucks to admit that I’ve gotten old and more “mature” I do have to say that I’ve realized that getting sun burned is no longer cool or funny. But it does make for some pretty funny swimming pictures.

I’m totally investing in some arm warmers and a big ‘ol bottle of sun screen this season. IT HURTS!

9 comments

  1. I have a sweet sunburn too. Gotta love the looks you get when it is time to swim. Somebody always says, “oh you must be a cyclist”. Yeah… duh.


  2. HOLY CRAP….

    That does not look like a good time. Sorry I missed out on the training weekend.

    Meet me out at Walden one of these mornings…good swimming.

    Cheers,

    J


  3. OH.
    MY.
    GOD.


  4. Ouch!


  5. Ouch!! I am having sympathy pains just looking at those pics!


  6. Ha! I mean, ouch. But ha!

    Yeah, get some quality sunscreen. SPF 30 works really well for me; gives me just a little color so that I don’t get burned just by being out for an hour or so, but prevents that painful redness. Might also want to buy some aloe vera; it’ll soothe that nasty burn.


  7. Those pics made me laugh!!! Been there, and done that. F’n funny!


  8. Ouch.


  9. Oh man, all I have to say is Solarcane, it’ll be your new best friend! 🙂 Ouch… I feel ya.



Leave a Reply

