h1

Contemplation of Risk and Reward

July 3, 2008

Despite pumping out a pain-free +120 miles on the bike this weekend, the IT band still isn’t in great shape. It isn’t even in good shape. Biking and swimming are fine, and I can run a mile pretty comfortably, but it goes down hill pretty quickly after that and I turn into a big limping pile of pain. It is too bad that the run for the Rhode Island 70.3 is 13 miles, not ONE.

Now with just 11 days until my first half ironman, I’ve had to sit down, do some deep thinking and settle on the idea that I need to make some serious changes to my training schedule.

My original plan was to finish off my peak phase with a hardcore running focused week. While I’d love to get one more seriously hard run week in, there is no way I’m going to get my IT band back in shape AND do some hardcore long runs, AND be fully tapered in a week and a half. I’ve gotten plenty of 8-10 mile runs in this year so far, but nothing close to 13 yet. On my longest runs, I’ve never felt like I was getting close to the upper limit of my distance range so I’m confident (if my knee doesn’t act up) that I can pull off the half marathon, but I really wish that I could just do 13 miles ONCE for that extra confidence boost.

Possible rewards of hardcore run week:

  • Added confidence in the half marathon
  • Added speed/run strength, 1-2 minutes?

Possible risks  of a hardcore run week:

  • My leg falls off
  • I limp and cry like a bitch for the whole 13.1 miles

I’m not that great at gambling, but I’m going to have to say that few minutes (max) benefit that this late running boost would give me just isn’t worth it, for both my speed and my overall fun level during the race. This next week and a half is going to be full of just biking and swimming and a daily stretch-a-thon session. I’m going to completely forget about running… for now.

I’m sorry. I’m getting a little whiny, but I’m just frustrated that my swimming and especially my biking are so solid but injuries keep holding my running back. I think I’m going to have to focus on that hardcore this fall so that it can catch up to my swimming and biking.

In other news:

My bike, Angela, is in the shop and just got hooked up with a shiny new casette and chain and is all prepped up for Rhode Island! I’m picking her up tomorrow to give the new setup a nice and make sure everything is good to go for my A race. I’m totally psyched!

One comment

  1. I can totally relate to this post — it stinks when your body is just not quite on the same page as your mind, goals & desires. If you’ve been running 8 – 10 miles, you’ll be able to get through the 13 no problem. The foam roller will be your best friend this week.



Leave a Reply

