h1

Back in the saddle

August 13, 2008

Blogging has been light because I have been lame.

In the 4 weeks after Rhode Island I didn’t do much except for a few spinning classes, with varying degrees of discomfort, and a few 1 and 2 mile runs. But I have been a stretching machine, which has really helped out my IT band and I’m ALMOST back to running normal distances again without pain.

I ran 2 miles yesterday and just felt a little tight at the end. WAY better than the excruciating pain that I felt after one mile about 6 weeks ago.

I think one of the reasons that I’ve seen some more progress in the last few weeks is this new stretch that I’ve been doing a lot. After doing tons of my normal IT band stretches, the foam roller wasn’t even hurting anymore and it felt really loose, until I would actually run on it. I figured something down there was still tight and the stretches I was doing just weren’t doing the job.

I eventually poked around YouTube and found this stretch.

Trust me, I look just as hot in those little booty shorts. I swear.

Anyway, as soon as I started doing this new one and a few other glut stretches, I could tell I had this big ‘ol knot of tightness in my left but cheek that I hadn’t noticed before. Hot, right? After stretching it out every morning before work and at night before bed for a week or so, I’ve gotten pretty flexible and now my running is almost back to normal!

Just in time to squeeze in some training to get for a September Oly! Woohoo! There is a lobsterman race in Maine that is calling my name.

Now that I’m starting to get back in the groove after exactly one month off, I feel like my endorphin tolerance has completely dropped. As soon as I start running (without pain) I get SO PUMPED and am reminded why I love it. I got in the pool for the first time in a while this morning and my warm up was almost 800 meters. I just kept swimming because it was fun and completely forgot about starting my real workout. It was the most fun I’d had in the pool all year.

Nothing like a little injury to refresh yourself in the middle of the season, eh?

Oh, and my work had a caricature artist come in today to draw me and the rest of the new people. Everyone has a pic of themselves by their desk instead of a boring sign or name plate. Kinda cool. I think this was the first caricature I’d ever had done. He even gave me disk wheels without me asking. Sweet! I didn’t bother trying to explain to him how to draw aero bars though…

What do you think?

6 comments

  1. Ummm, I don’t want to see you in those shorts. Sorry.

    😉


  2. I with Steve. But I think I need more instruction from her….


  3. Nice pic but where’s your booty???

    Regarding the ITBS…have you read my infamous post on trifuel.com about that? Gawd…you would know everything then…that stretch in the video is called Pigeon Pose in yoga, and yeah, it’s great because it hits your iliopsoas on one side and then your piriformis on the other side. If piriformis is out of whack guess what your TFL (the Starbucks muscle, aka Tensor Fasciae Latae, no foam please) can get overworked and it attaches to that big ole IT band and hence, pain.

    So you need to fix up your tight ass and lower back and then all your problems will be solved.


  4. Oh man, you need my sister to give you some yoga lessons…

    Okay, after the longest search of my entire 28 years alive I found my old spin cds! They are all yours, hopefully not scratched! So… email asap and I will send them snail mail this weekend before I leave for Penticton.

    Thanks again for your note, meant a bunch! Happy weekend! PHEWWWWWW…..


  5. nice pic – he even made you look super fast! i am so with you on the stretching — i definitely need to give my foam roller some love this week


  6. You should check out the social training log dailymile.com. You might find it useful for your training!



Leave a Reply

