h1

Fall Spinning Workout: Race Simulation

September 24, 2008

FYI: This blog has moved to a new address. Catch up on new posts at: http://swimbikerunlive.com/

 

Now that I’ve been an a real bona-fide spinning instructor for a year not, and have leeched a few killer workout mixes from Bree Wee, I feel like I’ve finally gotten a whole lot more comfortable making my own workouts. I have even been having a lot of fun making new ones.

With a little help with from my twitter friends for some new songs, here is my latest workout that I designed. It is a “race simulation” workout, so it has an extra long and easy warmup, but then a kick-ass 40 minute pain fest, staying above about 80% of your max for the the majority of the workout.

I tested it out on my class tonight and it seemed to go over pretty well. I saw a lot of pain in some faces. ūüôā

At the end of the warmup I even had the class stop pedaling, the only time ever durring a spin class, to burst¬† out of the “gate” to give it more of a race feel, which was pretty fun.

Enjoy!

Warmup
Smashing Pumpkins – Cupid De Lock¬†¬†¬† ¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬† Easy Spin ‚Äď Warmup – 60%
After the Fire РDer Mommissar                        4x :30 sprint @ 75% with :30 rest  1:00 soft pedal
Race Start
Muse РMap of the Problematique                     2x :60 @ 85% w/ :60 rest
Red Hot Chili Peppers РHard to concentrate     4 x (:30 seated climb Р:30 standing climb)
Foo FIghters РBreakout                                    3x (:15 rest :45 sprint) @ 80%
Speed Up                                                          3x (:30 rest :30 sprint) @ 90%
Jimmy Eat World РBleed American                    :60 standing climb :60 rest :60 standing climb
Britney Spears РBreak the Ice                            3 x (:30 easy, :30 medium :30 hard)
Third Eye Blind – Tattoo of the Sun¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬† 1:30 flat – :60 running ‚Äď 1:30 flat
Imogen Heap – Whatever¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬† 1:30 sprint – :45 rest ‚Äď 1:30 sprint
Finger Eleven – Paralyzer¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬† climb – :30 sit ‚Äď 1:00 stand – :30 sit ‚Äď 1:30 stand
Black Eyed Peas РAnxiety                                :60 sprint Р:30 rest 1:30 sprint
Arcade Fire РKeep the car running                   5 x :20 sprints all out Р:20 rest
Race End
Cool Down
John Mayer РGravity                                        3x (:30 sprint @ 75% Р:60 rest)
The one that you love                                     Cool Down
Incubus – Aqueous Transmission¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬† Stretch ‚Äď Clean Up

3 comments

  1. I love it. Definitely going to give this a try!

    Hard To Concentrate is My Favorite Song Of All Time. I’ve never heard it outside of my own playlists. YAY.


  2. Sounds like FUN!!!


  3. WHAT! No Ricky Martin? I know you like to spin to him…
    I so want to take your class, can you make a video of you spinning and post I bet you are hilarious!

    AND I FORGOT! Totally forgot our deal to take a little something from a pro, tomorrow at practice I will go for his water bottle or goggles, shhhhh…



Leave a Reply

