h1

Organic Baked Potato Pizza Recipe

October 10, 2008

FYI: This blog has moved to a new address. Catch up on new posts at: http://swimbikerunlive.com/

While time isn’t as much of a crunch now that is is officially the “off season” I’ve been experimenting a lot with new recipes. I’m mainly just looking for something that isn’t Easy Mac that I can trow together quickly after work and still have time to digest and workout without forcing myself to put off actually sleeping until after midnight.

I’m a huge fan of randomly making up recipes on the fly. Usually they turn out pretty decent, but this one turned out really good so I feel the need to share. With that, I give you: Jamie’s Organic Baked Potato Pizza.

I was even able to get home from work at 5:30, make up this recipe, cook it up, shove it down my throat and still have time to digest and make it to spinning at 7:00.

I’ve been getting progressively more crunchy this year, and have been doing more and more shopping at Whole Foods, hence all the organic stuff. It doesn’t really impact the taste (or the price even) but it will make your heart feel a little better for supporting sustainable ethical foods while chowing down on some pizza.

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium organic potato
  • 2 cups shredded organic mozzarella
  • Unfrozen organic white pizza dough
  • 1 tablespoon Bacon Salt
  • fresh basil
  • 1 cloves of garlic
  • 2 tablespoons light olive oil
  • White Flour

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  2. Using flower to keep the dough from sticking to your hands or the counter, slowly stretch the dough into a circle, or square if you can’t figure out where your roommate put the pizza pan.
  3. Lightly drizzle the dough with olive oil
  4. Thinly slice the garlic and baked potato and evenly spread over the pizza.
  5. Go wild with the cheese
  6. Bake for 15 minutes or until it looks delicious like this:

Just sprinkle with some chopped basil and you are good to go.

If you want to keep the organic kick going, try this beer with it: Peak Organic Amber Ale. Freakn’ delicous.

I’m still working on tweaking the recipe, and may try some more peppper, chives instead of basil, adding a little sour cream after baking, or using taco cheese instead of mozzarella.

Let me know if you guys try it out and what you think.

9 comments

  1. Wow! Nice job with the intuitive cooking. I’m impressed. It looks great! Will you be adding a delivery service soon?


  2. To be honest, I was a bit put off by the thought of Baked Potato and Pizza in the same sentence. But the addition of the Beer at the end, convinced me to give it a chance 😉


  3. Stop! I’m hungry and at work…. 😦


  4. Okay, I don’t cook but I am seriously going to try this. Holy cow the recipe looks SO good. Thanks for sharing!!


  5. Get yourself a crockpot! You’ll love it; you just throw randomly associated ingredients in, set the timer, and by the time you get home from work, you have dinner. It’s awesome.


  6. I *heart* my crockpot. Although you do have to experiment a bit. The problem can be that things turn gluppy in a hurry. I have a lasagna recipie that I am going to try next in my crockpot. Whohoo!!


  7. OMG. Yum!


  8. That Peak Organic Beer rocks !


  9. i am definately gonna try this one! lol keep em coming



Leave a Reply

