h1

Playing with HD Video

January 6, 2009

Disclaimer: This post has nothing to do with triathlon. I’m not even going to attempt to draw some connection. It does have fun HD videos of my dog. So if you don’t like dogs or cool new tech toys, come back in a few days. I’ll have some triathlon related posts then. 🙂

For Christmas, Santa brought me a sick new toy. A super tiny HD camera. The thing is awesome and I’ve been playing around with it the last few days and I love it. It is smaller than my regular digital still camera, and takes amazing videos. I may have to pack it along in my jersey pocket once I’m able to do long rides outside this spring to share random stuff that I find on the road.

Flip mino-hd

While the videos look amazing on my desktop, the files are huge and get a little clumsy when trying to move them online or export them to smaller files without losing all the quality.

When I was at home in Connecticut for Chrismas, I was playing around in the yard with my (parent’s) golden retriever, Tucker. Since a few different online video sites now allow you to upload HD videos (YouTube and Vimeo) I decided to play around and see what looks best so I know what makes the most sense for posting little video snapshots while training this year.

In the past, I’ve almost always used Blip.tv because they make it really easy to turn my videos into a podcast, but I’m curious to see how the other players stack up and if it makes sense using a different one, or maybe mix and match.

YouTube:

Click through and hit “Watch in HD” for full quality.

Vimeo:

Click through for full HD

Blip.TV

[blip.tv ?posts_id=1644761&dest=-1]

Click through for Quicktime HD version in Blip.

Click through for larger (non HD) flash version in Blip.

If for whatever reason you can’t see any of the three videos above, let me know. I’m also curious how this post looks in people’s RSS readers, since it doesn’t always look the same as it does on WordPress, but I’m still trying to work out some kinks.

Let me know what you think.

2 comments

  1. That is very cool. I’ve been looking for something just like that. I have a camera that takes videos but I want something better quality. Because I need high quality videos of my five year old, right?

    Check out the accessories – You need the action mount.


  2. Awesome toy… I’m just jealous of the snow.

    Hope you had fun.



Leave a Reply

