h1

Who has two thumbs…

April 18, 2009

… and a new J-O-B!

Two Thumbs

That is right people.BIG NEWS this week. The days of this unemployed triathlete eating PB&J and training just about as much as my body can handle between interviewing and applying to every half decent job out there are OVER.

After this weekend of celebrating the job and volunteering at the Boston Marathon clothing return, I’ll be returning to the working world. The last three months since I was laid off have definitely been an interesting adventure, but I’m COMPLETELY looking forward to returning to a more stable and predictable lifestyle. Granted, I’ll miss being able to long workouts in the middle of the day but I’m sure I’ll get over it.

The first month I had a pretty good series of job interviews, but there was a huge drop off in the last few weeks. Momentum was zapped, motivation was sucked from my being. Then this brand new opportunity came along out of left field, the CEO and I instantly clicked, and before I knew it I had a job offer in my inbox. It is a really cool job doing digital media marketing and PR for this boutique agency outside of the city. Strange how timing works for things like this, right?

The crazy part is that once another agency that I had been talking to (who had been ignorming my phone calls) heard that I was getting other offers, they quickly perked back up and my phone was buzzing. The first opportunity was a much better fit for me, but the timing allowed me to actually turn down the other agency! My career opportunities were pretty barren for three months, the economy has been in the tank, then all of a sudden I’m offered this great position with tons of extra responsibility and get to turn down a second opportunity?

I celebrated with a nice hard 48 mile bike by myself this afternoon and am now heading out to enjoy some adult beverages with friends.

Coincidentally (again) my first week at work comes on a rest week. Perfect timing to keep a good work/tri balance, right?

3 comments

  1. yay!!! I am soooo excited for you!!! Another social marketing cybergeek!! you are going to love it! Enjoy Marathon Monday!!


  2. Congrats!! That is excellent news. 🙂


  3. Dude, I couldn’t be more happy for you! Congrats!!!



Leave a Reply

