h1

Spectating Boston

April 21, 2009

I really don’t know why they just don’t hand out registration forms for next years race at the Boston Marathon. I had only toyed with the idea of running Boston before, but went to the expo on Friday and Sunday, and then volunteered at the clothing return after the finish line on Monday and it was a completely different story. If they were handing out 2010 registration forms, I would have snatched one up without a second thought.

There was so much energy everywhere throughout the city this weekend that it was amazing.

I snapped a few quick video clips between my volunteering duties. Here are some of the fast runners coming through, and two guys that ran in giant Solo cups. And no, I didn’t bother peeking down to see if they were actually wearing anything under there. 🙂

Click through for HD version.

One of the greatest things was just all the energy bouncing back and forth between the racers and the volunteers. So many exhausted runners would walk past me on their way back to the hotel, staring blankly at the ground. As they passed, I would pat them on the shoulder, congratulate them, and make sure the wind didn’t blow their mylar blanket off of them and they had some water and food in their hands. Every single one of them would look up, eyes wide open, and crack this huge smile. It was great to be able to bring them back out of their dazed stuper and remind them of the amazing accomplishment that they just finished.

Even later that night, hours after the finish line had closed and the finisher’s corral was dismantled, the energy kept on coming. I was sporting my neon yellow volunteer jacket, and gave a little congratulatory nod to everyone I saw in a blue racer’s jacket or anyone sporting a medal. That same huge smile still came out instantly. One guy, a whole block down from me, just started yelling, “No! THANK YOU! Without you we couldn’t do this!”

I love random love spread between strangers. 🙂 It made my day.

Err… well. That came out wrong, but you know what I mean.

It is definitely too early to make any promises about next year, but lets just say I have a new race moving its way up my priority list.

2 comments

  1. That is cool that you were able to volunteer. I think volunteering makes you a better racer.

    By the way your Flip video recorder give you very good quality videos.


  2. hehe, I like your ending thought that came out wrong! When I played the video I expected to see fast guys running…took me a second to realize-oh, they finished already, that’s why they are walking in a daze. Sounds like you had a fantastic time!



Leave a Reply

