h1

Climbing and Descending

May 14, 2009

This weekend is the Wheelworks team training weekend. One of my favorite times of the triathlon season.

This year, I will be trying my luck with hardest bike workout I’ve ever attempted. Ninety miles along the Kancamangus Highway and over 5,000 feet of climbing.

kancamagus highway

I did a section of this course last year, but topped out at 60 miles, but the most fun part was the descents. I maxed out at 57 mph and can’t wait to fly down those hills again.

I even just outfitted my bike with new shifter cables and brake pads, just to be safe. So if you don’t hear from my by Monday night, come find me. I might be hanging off the edge of some cliff somewhere.

5 comments

  1. 57 MPH?! Those are roadkill speeds! Watch out for deer.

    And Kancamangus? *snicker*


  2. HOLY COW! I would freak out if I was going 57 mph! Thankfully – we don’t have hills like that in FLorida 🙂 Have fun!


  3. ohhh oohhh how far away is this? I need a hill ride on sunday (4 hours) – how do i get there??!!!


  4. PLEASE invite me to do that ride with you, you KNOW I LOVE down hills! NOT! Jamie, you are crazy… sounds like good prep for REV3!

    See ya soon, 3weeks??!! Yahoooooo.
    Have a good weekend!
    Bree


  5. Pretty sweet. If you like that ride you should check out the Climb to the Clouds century (we found out the hard way it’s actually 107.3). If I recall it was around 5500 ft of total climbing. You get to ride up the road to the left of the mountain which is around 9 degrees for a little over a mile. Then up the tote road of Mt. Wachusett all the way to the top. Awesome view at the top. Worth the climb.

    Glad you are ready with your brakes because my buddy and on our decent of the mt had serious brake fade. We were alternating all the way down for fear of heating the rims too much.

    Have fun.



Leave a Reply

