h1

Trakk Me At Rev3 This Sunday

June 4, 2009

FYI: This blog has moved to a new address. Catch up on new posts at: http://swimbikerunlive.com/

The taper is going well. I’m eating better, keeping my weight at a steady 172 lbs and getting tons of rest. I even took a nap yesterday after work. I can’t remember the last time I actually took a nap! Coach Brett is a big fan of listening to your body and the saying “Eat when hungry. Sleep when tired.” I was tired, so I slept. Simple, but it felt great.

The lack of exercise is even starting to make me a little anxious to hit the race course. My legs feel fresher than they have in months and I am feeling SOOOOOO ready to race.

As you may remember, I got sponsored by Trakkers earlier this year. They have been doing a ton of product testing and are making their big public launch at Rev3 this weekend. In short, Trakkers makes a GPS device for athletes. Unlike Garmins and other GPS watches that show your pace, time, etc, Trakkers is all about communicating data to other people, not to the athlete wearing the device.

The truth is that triathlon is a pretty shitty spectator sport. Over the course of 6 hours, any friends or family that come to support me will probably only see me four or five times. Even if I wasn’t sponsored by them, I’d think the idea of my support crew being able to follow me instantly as I race is wicked cool.

This Sunday, I’ll be wearing a Trakkers GPS. On race day, you will be able to log online and see a blinking dot on a map of the race course that will move along throughout the day, transmitting my location, speed, etc. I hear that it will show the elevation and HR too, so that should explain it if you log on and see me slogging away at 11mph up one of the steep climbs. 🙂

If you want to track me during the race, go to http://www.trakkersgps.com/ click on “Track Events” then “Rev3” and click on “Jameson Bull”. From there you should be able to see my progress throughout the day and stalk other triathletes from your couch.

trakkers1

My swim wave is set to start at 7:20 a.m. I’m hoping to be out of the water and on the bike by 8:00, back into T2 and on the run course at 11:00ish, and finishing somewhere around 1:00 p.m.

Carole Sharpless (the awesome Team Trakkers Athlete Coordinator) and Heather Gollnick will be doing live commentary during the race on http://rev3tri.com/. Lars Finanger will be sending text race updates to Slowtwitch.com.

Honestly. This race is so amazingly connected that the only way I could keep everyone more updated is if I was live tweeting during the whole thing. Sorry kids, that isn’t going to happen.

When racing, only race.

And kick butt!

6 comments

  1. GOOD LUCK JAMIE!! although you dont really need it since you have been on FIRE this season! cant wait to hear all about it!


  2. ohhh…i will be stalking…errr…trakking you!! have a blast….race smart…you are primed and ready!


  3. Looks cool. Tell them they need an iPhone app!

    Enjoy your race.


  4. Awesome. Good luck out there! We’ll be watching!


  5. Hi Jamie,

    I hope your races goes well.

    I’m Hua, the director of Wellsphere’s HealthBlogger Network, a network of over 2,000 of the best health writers on the web (including doctors, nurses, healthy living professionals, and expert patients). I think your blog would be a great addition to the Network, and I’d like to invite you to learn more about it and apply to join at http://www.wellsphere.com/health-blogger. Once approved by our Chief Medical Officer, your posts will be republished on Wellsphere where they will be available to over 5 million monthly visitors who come to the site looking for health information and support. There’s no cost and no extra work for you! The HealthBlogger page provides details about participation, but if you have any questions please feel free to email me at hua@wellsphere.com.

    Best,
    Hua


  6. Good luck tomorrow… I’ll definitely have to check out that Trakkes thing.



Leave a Reply

